top of page

AT THE ORANGE SHOW

Every last Friday of the month
6-10PM

word1.png

What language is your art? Sound, movement, words, noise, poetry, puppetry, inventions, installations, shapes... Houston's most creative minds are highlighted each month during The Happening, with the Orange Show's sprawling campus as their stage.

 

Curated by artist Alexandra Lechin, no two Happenings are ever the same, and you never know what you'll experience!

Anyone interested in presenting a piece of work or engaging audiences in an activity is invited to submit a proposal to be part of an upcoming Happening. 

A monthly curated experimental performance art and open mic showcase

Upcoming

UPCOMING HAPPENINGS

The Happening XVIII: THE MOON
March 29, 2024 | 6-10pm

Free to attend - Donations encouraged!

PERFORMANCE LINE UP

6:00: DOORS OPEN AT SMITHER PARK PAVILION
——angler fish stage——
6:15 opening remarks
6:20 @cazcancreate
6:40 @hannahbullnectar
7:00 @venusinfurrr
7:20 @dolo_trav
7:40 @santacarmkiv

 

8:10 —INTERMISSION—
 

8:35 @jenlin.mar
 

8:55 —WAREHOUSE—
9:00 @jeanette_joy_harris
9:30 Open Mic
10:00 Doors closed

Past

PAST HAPPENINGS

The Happening XVII: THE STARS
February 23, 2024 | 6-10pm

FEATURING PERFORMANCES FROM
Adam Zaretski @andi_wallhore
Andrew Whit @whatthatmouthdrew

Ra Sonder @ra_sonder

Daniel Holiday @holidaydaniel

Crimson Vagabond @crimson_vagabond

Hexpartner @hexpartner

The Happening XIII: Supernatural
Friday October 27, 2023 | 6-10pm

FEATURING PERFORMANCES FROM
Isabella Vik 
@isabella.v___
Ariaza Ariaza 
Ryan Hollaway @ryanhollaway
James Medford @jameswmedford
Sofia Silueta @sofiasilueta

Queenie de la Rosa @queenie.de.la.rosa

Photos by Ben White

Photos by Ben White

The Happening XVI: INTEGRATION
January 26, 2024 | 6-10pm

FEATURING PERFORMANCES FROM
Brenna Rogers 
@brennarogers.art
Alexandra Lechin @vibrating_lines
Brittani Broussard @brittanibroussard
Philosophy Stone
Rosalia Lucio @rosaliatodavia

Amanda Ortiz @highpriestsalive

Grayson Michael Harper @gmhriot

Cody Ledvina @codyledvina

video by Miles St. John @fifth.wave.photo

Photos by Ben White

The Happening XV: RELEASE
Friday December 29, 2023 | 6-10pm

FEATURING PERFORMANCES FROM
Sofia Silueta 
@sofiasilueta
Mark Medina @inner_abode
Adam Gruba @adamgruba
Nancy Douthey @tabletoptarot
Nina Marinick aka KNOWME @dmtiamat

TRU @teetruoil

Norola Morgan @studio.moonyoonits

Rev. Bryan Taylor @santacarmkiv

video by Miles St. John @fifth.wave.photo

Photos by Ben White

The Happening XIV: DECOMPOSITION
Friday November 24, 2023 | 6-10pm

FEATURING PERFORMANCES FROM
Julia Claire Wallace 
@julia.claire.wallace
An iMage @hototxt
Eric DePan @depantheman
YE Torres @ye_torres
Una Behdi @una.behdi

T Lavois Thiebaud @tlavois

No Me Digas! @nomedigas_htx

Pete Gershon @jazzooo

video by Miles St. John @fifth.wave.photo

Photos by Ben White